Jim Powers

Community Service Award




Reprinted with permission.


Oklahoma City, OK -- Governor Brad Henry will honor 17 individuals and four organizations for their contributions to the arts in their communities or throughout the state. Sponsored by the Oklahoma Arts Council, the 29th Annual Governorís Arts Awards Ceremony is scheduled for 4:00pm, December 1st on the 4th Floor Rotunda of the State Capitol.

Executive Director Betty Price said recipients of the Governorís Arts Awards were selected by previous winners of the awards from statewide nominations. ďThese prestigious awards are an opportunity to celebrate Oklahoma arts and the people that facilitate its success,Ē said Price.

The Community Service Award recognizes individuals for significant contributions to the arts in specific Oklahoma communities in the areas of leadership and volunteerism. This yearís winners include Cheryl Forrest, Tulsa; Yvonne Huser, Holdenville; Jim Powers, Gage; Jeanie Raymer, Woodward; and Elvin Sweeten, Gene Autry.

Jim Powers has actively offered his created service to his community through his artwork, volunteerism and teaching for more than two decades.  Using scrap metal recycled from his former yard.  Powers creates artwork that allows viewers to interact, connect and appreciate his efforts.  While opening up his workshop to the public, Powers has created an unconventional artspace and expanded appreciation of the arts for visitors from around the world, to Gage, a town of less than 500 in North West Oklahoma.  Powers gives each visitor a special tour, helping those individuals understand the sculpture, basic concepts of art, how to talk about art and empowering them to decipher their own perception of art.  Powers has been featured on "Gallery", a documentary series aired on OETA, Oklahoma's statewide public television network.

Oklahoma Arts Council

Press you Backspace key to go back or click www.Powersville.net for Home Page.